Québec Portal Version française To contact us Return to Home page

The commission
Mandate
Members
Documents
Commission publications
References
bibliography
Public hearings
Presentation of briefs
Briefs received
International Symposium on Fiscal Imbalance
 
 
  Documents

Fiscal Prospect for the Federal and Québec Governments
Report prepared for the Commission on Fiscal Imbalance by the Conference Board of Canada

The Table of contents and the Introduction are presented here. The entire document is only available in PDF format (412 ko).

TABLE OF CONTENTS
SUMMARY
1. INTRODUCTION
2. OBJECTIVES OF THE STUDY
3. PROJECTION OF THE GOVERNMENT OF CANADA'S PUBLIC ACCOUNTS

3.1. CBOC'S LONG-TERM ECONOMIC FORECAST FOR CANADA
3.2. MAIN ASSUMPTIONS USED IN PROJECTING THE PUBLIC ACCOUNTS
3.3. FORECAST FEDERAL BUDGETARY BALANCE

4. PROJECTION OF THE GOVERNMENT OF QUÉBEC'S PUBLIC ACCOUNTS

4.1. CBOC'S LONG-TERM ECONOMIC FORECAST FOR QUÉBEC
4.2. HEALTH CARE AND EDUCATION EXPENDITURE MODELS
4.2.1. Health care spending
4.2.1.1. Data sources
4.2.1.2. Health care spending forecast model
4.2.1.3. Results for health care spending
4.2.2. Education spending
4.2.2.1. Data sources
4.2.2.2. Education spending forecast model
4.2.2.3. Results for education spending
4.3. MAIN ASSUMPTIONS USED IN PROJECTING THE PUBLIC ACCOUNTS
4.4. FORECAST QUÉBEC BUDGET BALANCE

5. CONCLUSION

LIST OF TABLES

TABLE 1: Key Economic Indicators - Québec
TABLE 1B: Gross domestic product, income-based - Québec
TABLE 2: Key Economic Indicators - Canada
TABLE 2B: Gross domestic product, income-based - Canada
TABLE 3: Québec government revenues
TABLE 3B: Québec government expenditures
TABLE 4: Federal government revenues
TABLE 4B: Federal government expenditures
TABLE 4C: Budgetary balance and net debt of the federal government
TABLE 5: Population by age and gender cohort (percentage of total population) - Québec
TABLE 6: Per capita government health care spending by age cohort (males) - Québec
TABLE 6B: Per capita government health care spending by age cohort (females) - Québec
TABLE 7: Government education spending by sector and per student and enrolments by sector - Québec

1. INTRODUCTION
In May 2001, the Québec government set up the Commission on Fiscal Imbalance to identify and analyse the underlying causes of fiscal imbalance between the federal and Québec governments. This term is used to describe the situation in which some provinces have insufficient revenues to cover required expenditures, especially with respect to health care, education and social services while, the federal government, would have revenues that exceed the costs associated with programs under its jurisdiction. Indeed, fiscal imbalance raises numerous fundamental questions regarding the sources of revenue of governments and the nature of their expenditures.
The Commission has been asked, under its mandate, to obtain the opinions and suggestions of experts based in Québec and elsewhere concerning the causes and practical consequences of this imbalance and the concrete solutions to be adopted to remedy it. In order to help fulfil its mandate, the Commission on Fiscal Imbalance asked the Conference Board of Canada (CBoC) to project over the next 20 years the public accounts of the Québec and federal governments.
The Constitution gives the provinces jurisdiction over health care, education and social services. Programs in these sectors are very costly, especially in the case of health care where costs are rising rapidly due to, among other things, the ageing population. The projections must be done with special attention paid to the impact that demographic changes will have on health care and education spending, the largest expenditure categories in the Québec government's budget. Thus, the Conference Board of Canada has developed two forecasting models to better evaluate the impact that these expenditure categories, which fall under provincial jurisdiction, will have on the Québec government's public accounts.
Following a clarification of the study's objectives, this report is composed of two main sections. The first section presents the projections of the federal government's public accounts. The Conference Board of Canada's long-term economic scenario, the basis for forecasting public revenues and expenditures, is first summarized. The key assumptions underlying the economic projections are clearly spelled out and the findings are presented.
The second section presents the projection of the Québec government's public accounts in a similar manner, although particular attention is paid to the projections for health care and education spending. Indeed, the CBoC has developed forecast models for these two expenditure categories that rely on changes in per capita spending on health care and education. Part of this report is devoted to presenting the methodology used to develop these two models. The results are then included in the projection of the Québec government's public accounts. The report concludes with a comparison of the fiscal prospects for the federal and Québec governments.




Home | Québec Portal | To Contact us | Français
The Commission | Documents | Public hearings | Briefs received| Symposium


© Gouvernement du Québec, 2002

English Pour nous joindre Portail Québec Retour à la page d'accueil

La commission
Le mandat
Les membres
Documents
Publications de la Commission
Références
Bibliographie
Audiences publiques
Présentation de mémoires
Mémoires reçus
Symposium International sur le déséquilibre fiscal
 
 
  Documents

Projection des équilibres financiers des gouvernements du Canada et du Québec
Document préparé pour la Commission sur le déséquilibre fiscal par le Conference Board du Canada

La table des matières et l'introduction vous sont présentées ici. Le document complet n'est disponible qu'en format PDF (415 ko)

TABLE DES MATIÈRES
SOMMAIRE
1. INTRODUCTION
2. OBJECTIFS DE L'ÉTUDE
3. PROJECTION DES ÉQUILIBRES FINANCIERS DU GOUVERNEMENT DU CANADA

3.1. PRÉVISIONS ÉCONOMIQUES DE LONG TERME DU CBOC POUR LE CANADA
3.2. HYPOTHÈSES POUR LA PROJECTION DES ÉQUILIBRES FINANCIERS
3.3. SOLDE BUDGÉTAIRE PRÉVU AU CANADA

4. PROJECTION DES ÉQUILIBRES FINANCIERS DU GOUVERNEMENT DU QUÉBEC

4.1. PERSPECTIVES ÉCONOMIQUES DE LONG TERME DU CBOC POUR LE QUÉBEC
4.2. MODÈLES DE PRÉVISION DES SOINS DE SANTÉ ET D'ÉDUCATION
4.2.1. Dépenses en soins de santé
4.2.1.1. Sources des données
4.2.1.2. Modèle de prévision des dépenses de soins de santé
4.2.1.3. Résultats pour les soins de santé
4.2.2. Dépenses en éducation
4.2.2.1. Sources des données
4.2.2.2. Modèle de prévision des dépenses d'éducation
4.2.2.3. Résultats en éducation
4.3. HYPOTHÈSES POUR LA PROJECTION DES ÉQUILIBRES FINANCIERS
4.4. SOLDE BUDGÉTAIRE PRÉVU AU QUÉBEC

5. CONCLUSION

LISTE DES TABLEAUX

TABLEAU 1: Principaux indicateurs économiques - Québec
TABLEAU 1B: Produit intérieur brut selon les revenus - Québec
TABLEAU 2: Principaux indicateurs économiques - Canada
TABLEAU 2B: Produit intérieur brut selon les revenus - Canada
TABLEAU 3: Total des revenus du gouvernement du Québec
TABLEAU 3B: Total des dépenses du gouvernement du Québec
TABLEAU 4: Total des revenus du gouvernement du Canada
TABLEAU 4B: Total des dépenses du gouvernement du Canada
TABLEAU 4C: Solde budgétaire et dette nette du gouvernement du Canada
TABLEAU 5: Population selon le groupe d'âge et le sexe (pourcentage de la population totale) - Québec
TABLEAU 6: Dépenses en santé du gouvernement par habitant selon le groupe d'âge (hommes) - Québec
TABLEAU 6B: Dépenses en santé du gouvernement par habitant selon le groupe d'âge (femmes) - Québec
TABLEAU 7: Dépenses en éducation du gouvernement par secteur et par étudiant et effectifs scolaires par secteur - Québec

1. INTRODUCTION
En mai 2001, le gouvernement du Québec mettait sur pied la Commission sur le déséquilibre fiscal pour identifier et analyser les causes fondamentales du déséquilibre fiscal entre le gouvernement fédéral et celui du Québec. Ce terme est notamment utilisé pour décrire le fait que certaines provinces au Canada ont des revenus insuffisants pour exercer leurs compétences notamment en matière de santé, d'éducation et de services sociaux. Quant au gouvernement fédéral, il disposerait de revenus excédant ses besoins pour défrayer le coût des programmes associés à ses compétences. En fait, le déséquilibre fiscal soulève un grand nombre de questions fondamentales en ce qui concerne les sources de revenus des gouvernements et la composition de leurs dépenses.

Le mandat de cette Commission est de susciter et de recueillir les opinions et suggestions d'experts et d'intervenants de la société québécoise et d'ailleurs, quant aux causes, aux conséquences pratiques de ce déséquilibre et aux solutions concrètes à mettre de l'avant pour le corriger. Afin de répondre à son mandat, la Commission sur le déséquilibre fiscal a demandé au Conference Board du Canada (CBoC) d'effectuer un exercice de projection des équilibres financiers des gouvernements du Québec et du Canada sur les vingt prochaines années.

La Constitution accorde aux provinces la compétence en matière de santé, d'éducation et de services sociaux. Les programmes dans ces domaines sont très coûteux, particulièrement dans le cas de la santé où les dépenses augmentent rapidement à cause, entre autres, du vieillissement de la population. L'exercice de projection doit ainsi accorder une attention particulière à l'effet de l'évolution démographique sur les deux principaux postes de dépenses du gouvernement du Québec, soient les dépenses en soins de santé et en éducation. Le Conference Board du Canada a donc construit des modèles de prévision pour ces deux catégories de dépenses de compétence provinciale, afin de mieux cerner l'impact de l'évolution de ces coûts sur les équilibres financiers du gouvernement du Québec.

Après avoir clarifié les objectifs de l'étude, le rapport s'attaquera directement à la projection des équilibres financiers des gouvernements du Canada et du Québec. Il se compose de deux grandes parties. La première montre la projection des équilibres financiers du gouvernement du Canada. Le scénario économique de long terme du Conference Board du Canada sur lequel reposent les prévisions de revenus et de dépenses est d'abord résumé. Les principales hypothèses sous-jacentes à l'établissement des projections économiques sont par la suite clairement exposées avant de présenter les résultats.

La deuxième grande partie de l'étude présente la projection des équilibres financiers du gouvernement du Québec. La structure de présentation est similaire, sauf qu'une attention particulière est accordée à la projection des dépenses en soins de santé et en éducation. En fait, pour ces deux catégories de dépenses, le CBoC a développé des modèles de prévision qui reposent sur l'évolution des dépenses per capita en santé et en éducation. Une partie de ce rapport est donc réservée à la présentation de la méthodologie utilisée pour la construction de ces deux modèles. Les résultats sont insérés, par la suite, dans la projection des équilibres financiers du gouvernement du Québec. Enfin, une comparaison des résultats de la projection des équilibres financiers des gouvernements du Canada et du Québec permet de conclure le rapport.

 

   

Accueil | Protail Québec | Pour nous joindre | English
La Commission | Documents | Audiences publiques | Mémoires reçus | Symposium


© Gouvernement du Québec, 2002