Québec Portal Version française To contact us Return to Home page

The commission
Mandate
Members
Documents
Commission publications
References
bibliography
Public hearings
Presentation of briefs
Briefs received
International Symposium on Fiscal Imbalance
 
 
  Documents

The "Federal Spending Power"
Report - Supporting document 2

The Table of contents and the Introduction are presented here. The entire document is only available in PDF format (405 ko).

TABLE OF CONTENTS

INTRODUCTION
THE "FEDERAL SPENDING POWER" IN CANADA
1. The division of powers

1.1 Initial distribution
1.2 Growing centralization
1.2.1 Interpretative theories
1.2.2 Government practices

2. The spending power

2.1 Its definition
2.2 Its scope
2.2.1 A divided legal doctrine
2.2.2 Inconclusive judicial discourse

THE "SPENDING POWER" IN OTHER FEDERATIONS AND QUASI-FEDERATIONS
1. Introduction
2. "Spending power" in classical federations

2.1 A constitutionalized 'spending power' in Australia and the United States
2.1.1 Australia
2.1.2 United States
2.2 "Spending power" absent from or controlled in European federal constitutions
2.2.1 Germany
2.2.2 Switzerland
2.2.3 Belgium

3. "Spending power" in quasi-federations

3.1 Spain
3.2 Italy
3.3 The United Kingdom
3.4 European Union

4. A comparative synthesis

4.1 Three groups of countries
4.1.1 Classical federations issuing from the former British Empire
4.1.2 European classical federations
4.1.3 Quasi-federations
4.2 Two revealing classifications
4.2.1 The penetration of formal "spending power"
4.2.2 The presence of conditional transfers
4.3 Factors likely to explain these differences
4.3.1 Historical and cultural factors
4.3.2 Structural factors
4.3.3 Institutional factors

5. Conclusion

INTRODUCTION

This document presents an analysis of the federal spending power, a power often invoked by the federal authorities in Canada when they spend in fields of legislative jurisdiction attributed to the provinces under the Constitution, thereby giving rise, directly or indirectly, to a normative effect.

Chapter 1 of this document examines whether there is some basis in law for the existence of such a power in Canada, either in the Constitution Act, 1867 and its subsequent amendments or in the precedents established by the Privy Council, the Supreme Court and even lower courts having jurisdiction in the field. This analysis will show that not only does the federal spending power in the fields of jurisdiction of the provinces not appear in the Constitution Act, 1867 and its subsequent amendments, it is not recognized in the precedents in this field. Moreover, the fact that the Constitution Act, 1867 makes no mention of the spending power while it is constitutionalized in most federations that make use of it, strengthens the contention that it was intentionally left out of our constitutional context.

Chapter 2 of this document examines the spending power of central authorities in nine other federations or quasi-federations, chosen by reason of the characteristics that they share with Canada, namely Germany, Australia, Belgium, Spain, the United States, Italy, the United Kingdom, Switzerland and the European Union.

On the one hand, this exercise will make it possible to show that in the classic federations formed within the context of British colonialism and in the quasi-federations that are the result of administrative decentralization, the "spending power" or its counterpart is subject to little or no control by judicial mechanisms, which cannot attribute any decision-making power whatsoever to the authorities of federative or regional entities. On the other hand, it will be noted that in the other federations, a series of political mechanisms seeking to grant real powers to the constituent units of the federation permit a certain control over the use of this spending power by the central authorities.

However, although some of these mechanisms enable the constituent authorities of certain federations to control the collection of tax revenues, none of the mechanisms grants these authorities an individual veto right with respect to federal expenditures in their fields of jurisdiction. Consequently, these mechanisms do not resolve the problem that arises from the exercise of the "federal spending power", as it manifests itself in Canada. This observation is in no way surprising, given the fact that the various federal constitutions and the provisions therein governing fiscal issues reflect different contexts and address problems that have arisen differently. Hence, it is on the basis of the particular constitutional context in Canada, and notably Québec's specific situation, that the Canadian federation must find solutions to its own problems.




Home | Québec Portal | To Contact us | Français
The Commission | Documents | Public hearings | Briefs received| Symposium


© Gouvernement du Québec, 2002

English Pour nous joindre Portail Québec Retour à la page d'accueil

La commission
Le mandat
Les membres
Documents
Publications de la Commission
Références
Bibliographie
Audiences publiques
Présentation de mémoires
Mémoires reçus
Symposium International sur le déséquilibre fiscal
 
 
  Documents

Le pouvoir fédéral de dépenser
Rapport - Annexe 2

La table des matières et l'introduction vous sont présentées ici. Le document complet n'est disponible qu'en format PDF (337 ko)

TABLE DES MATIÈRES

INTRODUCTION

CHAPITRE 1 - LE POUVOIR FÉDÉRAL DE DÉPENSER AU CANADA

1. Le partage des compétences législatives et des pouvoirs exécutifs

1.1 Le partage initial
1.2 La centralisation croissante
1.2.1 Théories interprétatives
1.2.2 Pratiques gouvernementales

2. Le pouvoir de dépenser

2.1 Sa définition
2.2 Sa portée
2.2.1 Une doctrine divisée
2.2.2 Des tribunaux en réserve malgré les apparences

CHAPITRE 2 - LE " POUVOIR DE DÉPENSER " DANS D'AUTRES FÉDÉRATIONS ET QUASI-FÉDÉRATIONS

1. Introduction
2. Le " pouvoir de dépenser " dans les fédérations classiques

2.1 Un " pouvoir de dépenser " constitutionnalisé en Australie et aux Etats-Unis
2.1.1 Australie
2.1.2 États-Unis
2.2 Un " pouvoir de dépenser " absent ou contrôlé dans les constitutions fédérales européennes
2.2.1 Allemagne
2.2.2 Suisse
2.2.3 Belgique

3. Le " pouvoir de dépenser " dans les quasi-fédérations

3.1 Espagne
3.2 Italie
3.3 Royaume-Uni
3.4 Union européenne

4. Synthèse comparative

4.1 Trois groupes de pays
4.1.1 Les fédérations classiques issues de l'ancien empire britannique
4.1.2 Les fédérations classiques européennes
4.1.3 Les quasi-fédérations
4.2 Deux classements révélateurs
4.2.1 La pénétration du " pouvoir de dépenser" formel
4.2.2 La présence de transferts conditionnels
4.3 Les facteurs susceptibles d'expliquer ces différences
4.3.1 Facteurs historiques et culturels
4.3.2 Facteurs structurels
4.3.3 Facteurs institutionnels

5. Conclusion


INTRODUCTION

Le présent document présente une analyse du pouvoir fédéral de dépenser, un pouvoir parfois invoqué par les autorités fédérales au Canada lorsqu'elles dépensent dans les champs de compétence législative que la Constitution attribue aux provinces en y engendrant, directement ou indirectement, un effet normatif.

Le premier chapitre de ce document examine s'il existe des fondements juridiques à l'existence de ce pouvoir au Canada, soit dans la Loi constitutionnelle de 1867 et ses amendements ultérieurs ou dans la jurisprudence du Conseil privé, de la Cour Suprême et même des tribunaux inférieurs compétents en la matière. Cette analyse montrera que le pouvoir fédéral de dépenser dans les champs de compétence des provinces, non seulement ne figure pas dans la Loi constitutionnelle de 1867 et ses amendements ultérieurs, mais n'a pas non plus été reconnu par la jurisprudence en la matière. Plus encore, le fait que la Loi constitutionnelle de 1867 ne mentionne pas le pouvoir de dépenser alors qu'il est constitutionnalisé expressément dans la plupart des fédérations qui l'utilisent renforce encore la thèse de son absence voulue de notre contexte constitutionnel.

Le second chapitre de ce document examine le pouvoir de dépenser des autorités centrales dans neuf autres fédérations ou quasi-fédérations, retenues pour leurs traits communs avec le Canada, soit l'Allemagne, l'Australie, la Belgique, l'Espagne, les États-Unis, l'Italie, le Royaume-Uni, la Suisse et l'Union européenne.

D'une part, cet exercice permettra de montrer que dans les fédérations classiques issues du colonialisme britannique et dans les quasi-fédérations relevant de la décentralisation administrative, le " pouvoir de dépenser " ou ses homologues sont peu ou pas contrôlés par des mécanismes judiciaires puisque ces derniers n'ont pas pour effet d'attribuer quelque pouvoir décisionnel que ce soit aux autorités des entités fédérées ou régionales. De l'autre, on constatera que dans les autres fédérations, un ensemble de mécanismes politiques visant à attribuer des pouvoirs réels aux unités constituantes de la fédération y permettent un certain contrôle de l'usage de ce pouvoir par les autorités centrales.

Cependant, même si certains de ces mécanismes permettent aux autorités constituantes de certaines fédérations de contrôler la perception des revenus fiscaux, aucun d'entre eux ne leur attribue de veto individuel à l'égard des dépenses fédérales dans leurs champs de compétence, de sorte que ces mécanismes ne règlent pas le problème que cause l'exercice du " pouvoir fédéral de dépenser " tel qu'il se présente au Canada. Le constat n'a rien d'étonnant, compte tenu que les diverses constitutions fédérales et les dispositions qui y régissent les enjeux fiscaux reflètent des contextes différents et répondent à des problèmes qui s'y présentent différemment. C'est donc à partir du contexte constitutionnel particulier au Canada, et notamment de la situation spécifique du Québec, que la fédération canadienne doit induire des solutions à ses propres problèmes.

   

Accueil | Protail Québec | Pour nous joindre | English
La Commission | Documents | Audiences publiques | Mémoires reçus | Symposium


© Gouvernement du Québec, 2002