The Task Force Documents Press Releases Consultation
 


MESSAGE FROM THE CHAIRMAN

As part of the mandate you entrusted to us, we sought to assess the tax assistance measures under their various aspects by adopting a constructive and forward-looking approach.

We did so with the support of studies and analyses undertaken for that purpose, as well as consultations during which we met with more than 120 companies and organizations throughout Québec. These meetings were enriched by a little more than 160 briefs, which is a good indication of the interest sparked by our work.

While the consultation was being carried out, an at times bitter debate was developing between businesses in certain regions concerning the impact and relevance of tax assistance for the resource regions. While the climate in which tax assistance for the new economy was discussed was less charged, positions were defended with just as much vigour.

In both cases, we arrived at recommendations which, we trust, will be useful in laying solid foundations for future government initiatives in favour of the resource regions and the new economy.

As we indicate in the report’s conclusion, these recommendations form an integrated whole. They flow from an overall vision of the assistance granted to the resource regions and the new economy.

More than that: we suggest that these recommendations form the core of future development policies for the resource regions and assistance policies for the new economy.

Indeed, we propose initiatives that could apply to Québec’s economy as a whole to support private investment - one of the strategic keys to the creation of wealth and Québec’s future prosperity.

Naturally, the decision lies with the government.

The title of our report is “On Equal Terms”. The approach we propose and the resulting recommendations seek to put the Québec companies concerned “on equal terms” in the great battle of competitiveness on markets.

Concerning tax assistance for the resource regions, we wanted to define the best ways to provide sustainable assistance for companies in outlying regions that must deal with the handicap of remoteness.

As for tax assistance for the new economy, the aim is rather to provide companies in Québec with the means to deal on an equal footing with competitors from elsewhere that receive substantial state support.

The title of our report also refers directly to the constant battle facing companies, in an economy that has never been so open and where competition has never been so keen.

We are convinced that Québec companies very well equipped to claim their place and grow. We are also convinced that appropriate support measures can help them achieve solid and sustainable growth if the emphasis is put on efficiency and productivity. That is one of the fundamental principles on which we based our reflections and formulated our recommendations.

Robert Gagné

Chairman,
Task Force on Tax Assistance
for the Resource Regions and the New Economy

February 7, 2008

To tof of page


Home | Site Map | To Reach Us | Québec Portal | Français | Task Force | Documents | Press Releases | Consultation



© Gouvernement du Québec, 2007


Version française Home Page Site Map Québec Portal To Reach Us

Le comité Les documents Les communiqués La consulation
 


MESSAGE DU PRÉSIDENT

Dans le cadre du mandat confié par le gouvernement, le groupe de travail a voulu évaluer les aides fiscales sous leurs différents aspects, en privilégiant une approche constructive et tournée vers l’avenir.

Nous l’avons fait en nous appuyant sur des études et réflexions engagées à cette fin, mais également sur une consultation qui nous a amenés à rencontrer près de 120 entreprises et organismes à travers le Québec. Appuyant ces rencontres, le groupe de travail a été saisi d’un peu plus de 160 mémoires, ce qui illustre l’intérêt soulevé par nos travaux.

Cette consultation a été effectuée alors qu’un débat parfois acerbe se développait entre les entreprises de certaines régions, concernant l’impact et la pertinence des aides fiscales aux régions ressources. Les aides fiscales à la nouvelle économie ont été discutées dans un climat moins tendu, mais tout aussi mobilisateur.

Dans les deux cas, nous en sommes arrivés à des recommandations qui, nous l’espérons, permettront de construire sur des bases solides les futures initiatives gouvernementales en faveur des régions ressources comme de la nouvelle économie.

Tel que nous l’indiquons en conclusion du rapport, ces recommandations forment un tout. Elles découlent d’une vision que nous avons voulue globale de l’aide apportée aux régions ressources et à la nouvelle économie.

Nous allons même plus loin : nous suggérons que ces recommandations constituent le noyau de futures politiques de développement des régions ressources et d’aide à la nouvelle économie.

Nous proposons d’ailleurs des initiatives qui pourraient s’appliquer à l’ensemble de l’économie québécoise, dans le but de soutenir l’investissement privé – l’une des clefs stratégiques de la création de richesse et de la prospérité future du Québec.

Il reviendra bien entendu au gouvernement d’en juger.

La démarche que nous proposons et les recommandations qui en résultent visent en effet à placer les entreprises québécoises concernées « à armes égales », dans la grande bataille de la compétitivité et de la concurrence sur les marchés.

Pour ce qui est des aides fiscales aux régions ressources, nous avons voulu définir les meilleurs moyens pour aider de façon durable les entreprises des régions périphériques, confrontées au handicap de l’éloignement.

Dans le cas des aides fiscales à la nouvelle économie, il s’est agi plutôt de fournir aux entreprises installées au Québec les moyens de se battre de façon équitable avec leurs concurrentes de l’extérieur, elles-mêmes bénéficiaires de nombreux soutiens étatiques.

Le titre de notre rapport fait ainsi directement référence à la lutte permanente que les entreprises doivent livrer, dans une économie qui n’a jamais été aussi ouverte et où la concurrence n’a jamais été aussi vive.

Nous sommes persuadés que les entreprises québécoises bénéficient d’excellents atouts pour faire leur place et se développer. Nous sommes également persuadés que des appuis appropriés peuvent les aider à construire une croissance solide et durable, si l’on mise sur l’efficacité et sur la productivité. Il s’agit là d’un des principes fondamentaux à partir desquels nous avons développé nos réflexions et élaboré nos recommandations.

Robert Gagné

Président du Groupe de travail sur les aides fiscales
aux régions ressources et à la nouvelle économie
7 février 2008

Retour vers le haut de la page


Accueil | Plan du site | Pour nous joindre | Portail Québec | English | Comité | Documents | Communiqués | Consultation



© Gouvernement du Québec, 2007


English Version Accueil Plan du site Site officiel du gouvernement du Québec Pour nous joindre